3D printed figure with "action figure" like articulation

Posted by hauke 
Hello everyone!

I recently got into 3D printing and I was wondering how far I could take the functionality of my models. This is my first attempt at a figure with proper “action figure” articulation. It worked out pretty well. It basically works like a snap together model kit. It has about 30 points of articulation. I had to do some sandpapering in order to make everything fit together but that is something one should expect when 3D printing. The figure holds firmly together and all the joints have a nice range of motion. The seam lines are a little bit big but I believe that has more to do with the resolution of my printer then the 3D file. The figure is about 7 inches tall. It has a couple of swapable hands and the weapons can be stored on the back of the figure. The figure is called Dan Generiko and he is a hero in an apocalyptic world where genetically enhanced humans wage war against humans who have given up their natural bodies for robotic ones. Dan protects the ordinary humans who are caught in the middle of the fighting of the two factions.

- Hauke

----------------------------------------------------
Wanna see whales in giant mechsuits protect mankind against evil aliens?
Check out: [mechawhales.com]

Collectible figures available from: [www.deepfriedfigures.com]

My 3D printed action figures: [www.hauke-scheer.de]
MSW
That's very cool! What program did you use to model your design?
Very, very cool stuff, man.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/19/2013 11:10PM by gingaio.
Thanks! I use Softimage for modeling and netfabb for preparing the file for 3D printing.

Sanjeev (Admin)
Very ambitious undertaking! I'm sure there were a lot of failed parts from trying to get the joint bits' tolerances just right...

Are you using an FDM printer? And are the joints friction-based? I'd be a little afraid of ABS plastic "polishing out" friction joints after a while.
Sanjeev