Toynami is Making New Voltron Shogun Warrior Jumbos

Posted by glane21 
Dont know about posters, but a little birdie told me..

Voltron jumbos will retail about $200, 500 of each made, due by end of this year. No firing fists as previously reported.
I've gotta wonder how many of these they'll actually sell. $200 is a lot of scratch for a robot toy that just..well, stands there and waves its arms up and down. But nostalgia can be a powerful force I guess.
Sanjeev (Admin)
Makes ya wonder how the Jumbo Stormtrooper's doing...
I am no marketing expert, but during the SDCC, there were plenty left on the shelves on the last day.
I hope they do well.
No firing fists?
C'maaaaan!
Sanjeev (Admin)
Well...as long as they provide big-ass blazing swords...
Given the low production numbers, I'm surprised they don't handle them through an internal pre-sale and just mail them out.

Is that a firm 500 each, or just for the 1st batch/version?

Does anyone have a firm number on just how many Stormtroopers are really out there now, given all packaging/toy variations?
Were there many variations on the Jumbo Trooper? I thought it was the solid # they made for release, and the 20-25 they made with pink that were given out.

---------------------------------
[pgaijin.blogspot.com]
delta_7890 Wrote:
> I've gotta wonder how many of these they'll
> actually sell. $200 is a lot of scratch for a
> robot toy that just..well, stands there and waves
> its arms up and down. But nostalgia can be a
> powerful force I guess.

I don't think the play value really matters to the target customer. For me, at least, a modern Jumbo is more like a "one toy you'd keep in your living room" type of thing. This guy, for instance, is one of the most visually impressive items I've ever encountered. The size, complexity, and perfect proportions just create a wonderful effect that doesn't quite come across in photos. I'm imagining that Golion (and especially Dairugger) will have a similar impact in person.